ACC Premiere Cup: Nepal will bowl first

In today’s match, Gyanendra Malla, Karan KC and Pratish GC are in Benj.

Kathmandu: In the opening match of the ACC Men’s Premier Cup, Nepal will bowl against Malaysia after losing the toss. After winning the toss, Malaysian captain Hamad Faiz chose to bat first, and Nepal is going to bowl.

Nepal is aiming for a winning start in the match at the Trivi Cricket Ground in Kirtipur. After losing the toss, Nepal has been invited to field in the first match against Malaysia.

The Nepal Cricket Association (CAN) has announced the 14-member national cricket team for the tournament.

Under the captaincy of Rohit Paudel, the team announced on Sunday has Kushal Bhurtel, Ashif Sheikh, Gyanendra Mall, Kushal Mall, Arif Sheikh, Sompal Kami, Dipendra Singh Airi, Gulshan Jha, Karan KC, Sandeep Lamichhane, Bhim Sarki, Pratish JC and Lalit Rajvanshi.

Similarly, Arjun Saud, Sandeep Zora, Surya Tamang and Kishore Mahato have been kept as alternates. In today’s match, Gyanendra Malla, Karan KC and Pratish GC are in Benj.

In preparation for the tournament, Nepal defeated Oman by five wickets in a practice match on Saturday.

10 teams will participate in the competition which will be held till 18th of Baisakh. In the tournament to be held at the Trivi Cricket Ground and the Mulpani Cricket Ground, 10 teams will be divided into two groups and the semi-finalists will be decided by round robin method.

Group A includes Oman, Qatar, Malaysia and Saudi Arabia along with Nepal. Similarly, group insurance is UAE, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Singapore and Bahrain.

The winner of the tournament will be able to play in the group consisting of India and Pakistan in the Asia Cup to be held in Pakistan in September. The top three teams from this tournament will be eligible to play in the ACC Emerging Teams Asia Cup to be held in July.

Nepal will play its first match on May 5 against Malaysia at the Trivi Cricket Ground. Similarly, the second will be played against Oman on the 8th, third against Saudi Arabia on the 11th and against Qatar on the 14th. The match between Saudi Arabia and Nepal will be held at Mulpani Group,


Related Articles

Back to top button